top of page

a performance vehicle for actress and pianist


American Haikus captures a fleeting series of poignant creative moments through poetry and music.


Piano Theatre commissioned and gave the world premieres of these works in 2010.


1. The clouds are following each other into eternity
2. Bird was gone and distance grew immensely white
3. The summer chair - rocking by itself in the blizzard
4. Mist before the peak – the dream goes on
5. Protected by the clouds, the moon sleeps sailing
6. The days go – they can’t stay – I don’t realize
7. Late afternoon – the lakes sparkle blinds me
8. God’s dream – it’s only a dream
9. The sound of silence is all the instruction you’ll get

Music by Hugues Leclair (1962-)

Poetry by Jack Kerouac

bottom of page